Auckland University of Technology banner

Auckland University of Technology

Auckland University of Technology (AUT) (M?ori: Te W?nanga Aronui o T?maki Makau Rau) is a university in New Zealand. It was formed on 1 January 2000 (1895 originally Auckland Technical School) when the Auckland Institute of Technology was granted university status. Its primary campus is on Wellesley Street in Auckland's Central business district (CBD). AUT has two secondary campuses: North and South, and the sports training institute AUT Millennium. AUT enrolled 28,314 students in 2014, including 2,606 international students from 85 countries, and 1,735 postgraduate students. 87% of students were enrolled in a bachelor's degree or higher qualification. AUT’s student population is diverse with students having a range of ethnic backgrounds including New Zealand European, Asian, Maori and Pacific Islander. Students also represent a wide age range with 37% of students being over 25. AUT University employed 2,063 full-time equivalent (FTE) staff in 2011, including both administrative and academic staff members.

Visit university website

University Location
55 Wellesley St E, Auckland, 1010, New Zealand